Home Tutorials How to Play the Lufia Video Games In Order
tutorial fractal image

How to Play the Lufia Video Games In Order

by Fire Nation Gaming

The Lufia video game series, which is also known as “Estpolis Denki” in Japan, is a collection of role-playing video games originally developed by Neverland.

This article is intended as a guide to show how to play the Lufia video games in order.

Lufia & The Fortress of Doom (1993)

Lufia & The Fortress of Doom is a classic role-playing video game that was released in 1993 for the Super Nintendo Entertainment System (SNES).

Developed by Neverland Co., Ltd., it is the first game in the Lufia series, known in Japan as “Estpolis Denki”.

The game is set in a fantasy world where the player embarks on a quest to defeat a group of evil beings known as the Sinistrals. The gameplay involves traditional RPG elements like turn-based battles, exploration of dungeons and towns, puzzle-solving, and managing a party of characters with various abilities.

Lufia II: Rise of the Sinistrals (1995)

Lufia II: Rise of the Sinistrals, released in 1995 for the Super Nintendo Entertainment System (SNES), is a prequel to “Lufia & The Fortress of Doom.” Developed by Neverland Co., Ltd., the game explores the backstory of the Sinistrals and the events leading up to the first game.

Set 100 years before “Lufia & The Fortress of Doom”, “Lufia II” follows the story of Maxim, a skilled warrior, and his group of companions as they battle the Sinistrals, who are intent on conquering the world. The game expands significantly on the lore and world-building established in the first installment, offering players deeper insights into the motivations and origins of the Sinistrals.

This game is widely regarded as the best one in the series.

Lufia: The Legend Returns (2001)

Lufia: The Legend Returns was released in 2001 for the Game Boy Color.

This game marks the third entry in the Lufia series and was developed by Neverland Co., Ltd. Unlike its predecessors on the Super Nintendo, this title brought the series into the realm of portable gaming, utilizing the capabilities of the Game Boy Color to deliver an RPG experience on the go.

The story is set some time after “Lufia & The Fortress of Doom” and “Lufia II: Rise of the Sinistrals”, featuring a new hero, Wain, who discovers that he is part of a lineage of warriors tasked with fighting the Sinistrals.

Lufia: The Ruins of Lore (2003)

Lufia: The Ruins of Lore, released in 2003 for the Game Boy Advance, is the fourth installment in the Lufia series.

Developed by Taito and Atelier Double, this game deviates somewhat from the central storyline of the Sinistrals, focusing instead on a new set of characters and a distinct narrative.

The narrative centers around Eldin, a young adventurer, who, along with his friends, seeks the legendary Treasure of the Gods while battling the evil Gratze Kingdom. The storyline is considered to be less directly connected to the primary Sinistrals plot of the earlier titles.

Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals (2010)

Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals, released in 2010 for the Nintendo DS, is a reimagining of “Lufia II: Rise of the Sinistrals”.

This title was developed by Neverland Co., Ltd., and it significantly alters several aspects of the original game, including the gameplay mechanics and presentation.

The storyline follows closely to that of “Lufia II” but is presented with a faster pace and more focus on action. It retells the tale of Maxim and his allies as they battle the Sinistrals, aiming to prevent them from destroying the world.

The narrative is enhanced with fully voiced cutscenes, which were a new addition to the series.

Leave a Comment